The FIFA Technical Study Group have selected a ten-strong shortlist for the adidas Golden Ball award.

All ten contenders are from the ranks of the teams contesting today's final and third-place match, and winner of the award, which honours South Africa 2009's outstanding player, will be selected by the tournament's accredited media. Each accredited member is entitled to select his or her top three players from the TSG's shortlist, with a first-place vote worth five points, a second-place vote three points and a third-place vote one point.

The points totals will be tallied by FIFA at the end of the final, and the winner presented with the coveted adidas Golden Ball at an awards ceremony following the match's conclusion. The players coming second and third will receive the adidas Silver Ball and adidas Bronze Ball respectively.

South Africa 2009 adidas Golden Ball shortlist
DEMPSEY, Clint (USA 8)
DONOVAN, Landon (USA 10)
KAKA (Brazil 10)
PARKER, Bernard (South Africa 17)
PIENAAR, Steven (South Africa 10)
ROBINHO (Brazil 11)
TORRES, Fernando (Spain 9)
VILLA, David (Spain 7)
XAVI (Spain 8)

Previous FIFA Confederations Cup adidas Golden Ball Winners
1997 - Denilson (BRA)
1999 - Ronaldinho (BRA)
2001 - Robert Pires (FRA)
2003 - Thierry Henry (FRA)
2005 - Adriano (BRA)