FIFA Confederations Cup Russia 2017

FIFA Confederations Cup Russia 2017

17 June - 2 July

FIFA Confederations Cup

5 days to go: Champions’ parade

*Five *different countries have lifted the FIFA Confederations Cup Trophy. Argentina and Denmark won the first editions of the competition in 1992 and 1995, when it was known as the King Fahd Cup. Brazil won their first Tournament of Champions title in 1997 but lost in the final to hosts Mexico in 1999.

France ruled the Confederations Cup in the early 2000s, winning back-to-back titles in 2001 and 2003. Brazil’s era of dominance started in 2005, as they won the first of three consecutive tournaments in Germany, South Africa and at home in Brazil, making them four-time winners of the event.

Mexico are the only previous winners of the competition this summer in Russia. El Tri will either draw level with France on two titles or there will be a sixth name on the trophy.

Explore this topic

Recommended Stories

Hyundai has enjoyed a successful relationship with FIFA for over 15 years

FIFA Confederations Cup

FIFA Predictor presented by Hyundai

23 May 2017